14-19-3 Fuel Tank Vents & Caps

Rob58

As some of you know the -3 that I recently purchased had an in-flight power loss. Power was quickly restored with the boost pump; landing uneventful. This prompted me to purchase a complete fuel system kit from Continental (picture below), which I am in the process of installing. Nine engineering revisions were made between the original pump design and what TCM sells now (not that this means the current design is better!). However there is one area of the fuel system that I have little knowledge about: the tank venting system and the fuel caps. Is all of the venting done through the caps? Can that be a problem? Should I replace the caps? Hoping that someone familiar with the -3 can bring me up to speed on this. I would sure hate to learn that the original problem was with the venting, although I am very satisfied to have all new stuff pumping gas into the cylinders. Thanks for any feedback!

Rob, all fuel caps are vented so make sure yours are working. On my -2 there is just a straight hole in the middle of each cap. Can't get any simpler I guess. It's always the simple stuff that causes the problem finding it is hard at times. Looks like you went for the juggler on this but being all new gives a certain piece of mind. I had a major oil leak on a Navion once and spent all sorts of time and money. Turned out to be the tach shaft gasket ----75cents! Lynn the crate :D