2000 7GCBC

jworth94

Hello all,

I'm a new member and this is my first post. I'm also a newly endorsed tailwheel pilot. I got my endorsement in a Decathlon and wish I would have found this forum earlier... lot of great information here.

I found a 2000 7GCBC for sale and have a few questions.

1. Would the newer 7GCBC handle similarly to a mid-70's Decathlon?

2. The 7GCBC had at one time a fuel leak which stained the overhead area. The owner spray painted to cover up the stain. Anyhow, are fuel leaks a problem with this model? Apparently the leak was due to a faulty clamp, at least that's what I was told.

3. Would you expect corrosion or rust if it's been hangered and has no DH. (Northeast plane) 7 years old, shouldn't it be rather clean?

4. Any other issues or potential problems with that model?

Thanks in advance for the help.

Regards,

Jon

1) Yes and No. I would say more no than yes. Its sort of like a grapefruit to an orange. Very similar but not quite; your best bet to answer the question is to fly one.

2) Fuel leaks on post 1974 7's are not common at all. The tank design is different and they are not subject to the acro that an 8KCAB can be. Fuel leaks on top seem strange. Usually a leak is on the bottom....you know....the gravity side. :)

3) I would expect rust free on the frame with only minor Lycoming rust on the engine. (darn thing gets hot)

4) none come to mind

Thanks for the helpful comments jerrymjr.

Here's another question, the airplane has a total of 350 hours on the engine since new. According to the broker, it's flown on a regular basis. Should I be concerned with the engine based on the relatively low hours flown?

Jon

If its truely flown frequently, then not really. Lycomings need the oil sloshed around often, even if its 20 mins a day. The rust I referred to in my last post was what might be on the outside.

Jon:

For what it's worth, here's my 2 cents on your engine question.