Annual

gzlf3p

I have a Cruisemaster 14-19. Right now we are in the second week of my first annual. For the purpose of budgeting, how much should I set aside for future annuals? I know there are a lot of variables but I know how to add a couple hundred dollars to an estimate for parts and a little labor.
The reason I am asking is because this year’s annual is up to 4k puss about a thousand dollars for some other repairs I was saving for annual time.

My first 14-19 annual was around 5k. The next was closer to 8. Still there are no rules here. Much depends on the condition of the airplane when you bought it. Every airplane you buy has a hidden cost of 10-30 percent to cover things the previous owner learned to put up with or, rather, his A&P/IA allowed each year. The cost is much higher if the owner did his own maintenance and had a buddy sign it off each year.

These are not simple aircraft. Each aileron has counterweights needing regular attention. Ailerons change shape with time and begin to rub on other structures. The engine is an orphan that does not tolerate lack of use. Flap and gear actuation is hydraulic and the power pack is ancient. This also means actuation cylinders that need periodic replacement of O rings. Few 14-19s have all the drain holes legally required. The wood must be inspected. There is an AD on the trim tab requiring the system allow little free play and that S tapes be installed. There is the prop that requires 5k if a late 90s AD has not been complied with, and more like 7-9k if it has the old style clamps. All the parts, including a replacement prop were sold by Hartzell at "half price" for the first couple of years after the AD was issued. Now a new, AD free, prop is 15k plus a long wait while Hartzell builds one.