Converting to Continental 0-470 from Lycoming 0-435

Bullockdr

Hi everyone...only my 2nd post so far...I have a 50 Cruisemaster 14-19 with the Lycoming 0-435 and Hartzell prop and I want to make a conversion over to the Continental 0-470J...I plan on doing this in the process of restoring the aircraft...I didn't know who to contact with the club concerning this, so here goes a few questions: 1) I'm assuming there is either an STC or field approval associated with the conversion, wondering which? 2) Is there only a certain 0-470 model that can be used in the conversion? If so, which would that be? Currently I have access to a 0-470J engine. 3) Is there a particular individual in the club that would be considered the guru on that conversion? I'm an A&P, but have no experience in making that conversion.

I would appreciate any input and suggestions...Thanks...David

The -2 uses a Cont O470-K engine. It is the same engine used in the early Cessna 180,182. The engine has horizontal Lord mounts unlike a Cessna 182 which has vertical mounts in later model years. I use a Cessna 180A thru E engine installation parts catalog. This has great pictorials unlike Bellanca that has zilch. You would need to change the engine mount for a start at this. I know of no STC or Approval for your 19. That conversion would be quite a task. Thankfully my -2 has a McCauley prop( no AD's) and no need to split the cowl ring. Lynn the crate