Folding Bike

shipchief

Do any of you put a folding bike in your Cruisair / Criusemaster?
What fits?
Do you put it in the baggage compartment, or do you have to put it in the back seat?
If yes to the above, is the bike any good once you get where you're going?

I have an old folding bike I bought at a garage sale. It was made in Italy and folds in half. One speed. It is a tank to ride but fits in the back seat. I have no experience with the newer bikes. I did buy a go-ped which fits in the back seat and as long as the road is paved, it is decent transportation for short trips.

I have one of the Montague bikes. It is a full size mountain bike when unfolded. I folds up and fits in a 12X24X36 in bag. I am not sure if it fits in the baggage compartment of my cruise master or not. It is a great bike and doesn't' weigh a lot.

Scott, You can buy folding bikes from $ 100-$2500+. I like the idea of carrying in the luggage box, away from pax and upholstry. If you put a bike in the rear seat, it must have a bag or you risk road dirt and grease. You saw the bike I brought back from Taiwain. It was fairly expensive, at $450; but, it is all aluminum, strong and folds to 30"X 8 X 8". It weighs 18 lbs. Dan

I just got a Dahon Mariner D7 from a local Craigslist ad.
This the anticorrosion boat version of a common 20" wheel model; the Vetisse.
It has a rack on the rear, and the bike folds to the side, typical of Dahon models of this size.
The official height of 25" is greater than the measured 24" height of the door to 9800B, but with the seat & post removed, the bike fit right in and the door closed with at least 1/4" to spare.
If I didn't care about scratching, I can add the older Dahon 16" wheel folding bike sometimes known as the Busboy, or "folder". It would be a tight fit to get both bikes in there, but maybe a devider and some carefully placed baggage?
The Mariner rides very well, has a 7 speed derailure gearset, and is fairly stiff.