Landing light replacement

mtbowhunter

This may sound elementary to most of you, but as with all things on my plane, the first time something needs to be replaced/fixed, it's a new experience for me. So here goes.

The bulb in the landing light is burnt out on my 1976 7GCBC and American Champion informs me the replacement part is GE 4509. That bulb is easy enough to find, but I see there is a bulb available which is GE Q4509 which is the quartz halogen version of that bulb. It is advertised as having more candle power and longer life. Is this interchangeable with the 4509 and if so, does it need a field approval?

I greatly appreciate the help, and thanks for not laughing. :oops:

Joe in MT.

Joe:
I have been using the Q4509 for a couple of years in my aircraft with no problems. It is definitely brigher and seems to last longer. I have assumed since it is an approved part that it is legal to use but I have not looked into it.
Mark

Technically its not legal.
Will anyone ever catch it? I would bet money they wont.
You could probably get is signed off as a minor alteration though. Just say they added a "Q".... :lol:

Edit:
I am sure I will forget, but we could look at adding it to the Tech Data. Would be a minor but, it would be legal then.

Jerry-

It would be good to have the Q4509 as a legal option, while you're thinking of the landing light it would be good to have an external retaining ring so that the bulb could be changed without cowl removal.

Tom-

Yeah, getting that induction sleeve reinstalled is a PITA. Anyone have a clever way to do this? FWIW, I'm using the Q bulb, too. -Alex

Alex-