NEED A&P or AI in Phoenix, AZ area for owner assisted an

airplayn

I am repairing my wing walk area and getting ready for an owner assisted annual and I need any members in the Phoenix area to let me know about any A&P's and/or AI's that I might contact. I'm also looking for a spinner. I have a new back plate. If any one knows has info on making a fiberglass replacement I'd be interested in that as well.

Tim

What model triple tail do you have, Tim? I ask because that means everything when it comes to spinners.

Billy Walker based his hopped up 14-19 in the Phoenix area. He sold it and I doubt he's reading this forum now. Drop him a line at BillyWalker@cox.net. He may know of a mechanic wise in the ways of Bellancas in he area.

Jonathan

Hi Jonathan,

I have a 1951 14-19 Cruisemaster. It has the Lyc. O435, but, unlike most O435 powered 14-19's, it has high compression pistons and rate s at 225HP instead of 195HP (but the prop shaft and spinner are the same).

I have pix at;

http://airplayn.spaces.live.com/

I'll email Billy Walker and see if he has any info, Thanks.

Tim

As I recall, the 225 Hp O-435's can only achieve that HP at about 2900 or 3000 RPM (look at the engine data plate). I'm not sure what it achieves at the propellor's red line.

I looked at that plane up in Oregon before I bought mine. I made the wrong choice-I should have gotten the one you got. Good price and a great plane. brown and yellow is a great pattern.

You're quite right, Peter - the 225hp on the conversion to the O-435A2 (higher compression pistons) can only be achieved at 3000rpm on a prop that has a 2900rpm red-line that only a daring fool would employ in flight. Plus you need to advance the timing 5 degrees on an engine/cowling combination plagued by high CHTs.