Prop Queston: HC 12x20-8

Jonathan Baron

Bad news: that fragile back-plate for the spinner on my 14-19 finally decided to crack beyond what stop drilling has so somewhat accomplished over the past half century.

Good news: I have been keeping a *new* one for just such an occasion for the past 6 years. I would have kept it in a safety deposit box were it smaller.

Question: First the prop must come off before the old plate can be removed and a fresh plate added. Russell is off somewhere in the Pacific at the moment....some group of Islands that are, strangely, a United States state (don't ask me how the heck THAT happened) and I can't ask him. What tool do you use to remove that massive castle battlement of a nut that holds the prop on, what torque should it set to when it's put back on, and what tool - or method - can you use to apply/check the torque setting?

It's the infamous Hartzell HC 12x20 found on 14-19s, Cruisairs with O-435 conversions, and many Navions.

For those of you who actually know me, fear not: an actual mechanic will be performing the work.

Jonathan

I have a 3 ft steel breaker bar I use on the Navion. The torque is tighten it up till it bottoms then 1/2 turn works every time its on and off-------ALOT. My Navion couple gave me a great shirt and hat from Hartzell---I don't wear them. In silver Lynn N9818B Old Russell :lol: sure gets around!

I use a 4' long pry bar from Matco Tools. It looks like a screwdriver but is stamped "NOT TO BE USED AS A SCREWDRIVER".
That and a dead blow hammer will loosen the nut. Torque is the old German method "goot-n-tight" and line up a safety hole.

Thanks guys...you were the folks whom I'd really hoped would see this and respond. Joe, you've done this before on my very airplane and Lynn, you just know stuff, as does Joe: stuff, defined here as diverse knowledge of the vanshing mystic old airplane arts :)