Recovering vs Value

N4191B

I recently bought a 1969 Super Viking for a pretty good price. I'm a mechanic and in the middle of doing a pretty detailed annual which is almost complete. All of the control surfaces need to be recovered eventually just for cosmetic reasons. However I'm trying to decide if I should just use this as my winter project and recover the whole thing. Or at least the wings, control surfaces, and cowling. The fuselage could still hold out for a long time as it is still in pretty good shape. My question is, does anyone have a good S.W.A.G. on how much this actually adds to the value? I haven't found any Vikings of this vintage with new dope and fab for sale to be able to compare prices. In the end, I wouldn't be recovering it for any type of financial gain, only for added pride in my airplane. However it would be nice to at least get back the cost of the materials if I ever were to sell it. Thanks!

I've worked on the fabric on my Viking and it is one of the best and worst features on the plane. The material cost to work on fabric is relatively cheap - you'll get your money back if you do a good job - but there is a huge amount of time and labor involved.

The condition of the fabric will be key to whether you sell your Viking. Too many Vikings get scrapped because of the labor cost to recover them.

BTW Unless the wings are showing signs of fabric separation I would just repaint them.

jp