winter flying

tangogawd

Hey guys,
I'm new to General Aviation, and I just bought a 7ECA. I am wondering what you guys do when flying in the winter months. I live in Fairbanks Alaska. I currently have a buddy heater warming up the engine compartment, which works better than I expected. I do have skis, but am yet to try them out. Tips would be good. Are there any winter fronts that I could maybe purchase? What is a good way to de-ice (de-frost) wings?

thanks
Sonny

hi, i'm curious, what kind of skis do you have? i too am looking for winter kits to keep the engine warmer in flight. i have since heard the way to do it is limit the exit at the bottom of the cowl. i have heard but not seen another plane where i live that has this done. not sure on this though.
maybe others will chime in here with suggestions.

Sonny,

I've got a Cub that we've been throwing on skis when there's enough snow down here. I would find someone local who's done skis before to check your rigging and maybe go for a ride with you. There's no real mystery to it, just a few idiosyncrasies. It takes a BIG radius to do a 180 degree turn on the ground. When you're moving it around on the ground by lifting the tail up, be sure that you're moving forward or back before trying to turn it. It's easy to start twisting the gear leg with the additional arm that the skis have. Remember, no brakes. We leave the tail ski off the Cub for brakes, but then you have to watch the depth of the snow so you don't start beating on the tail wires. When you park, lift up the front of the ski and throw a piece of wood or a chock under it otherwise it will freeze solid to the ground.
Enjoy yourself.