New Member Intro

Rodney

Hello all! New member here posting an intro. I'm new to plane ownership and to your forum/club. I look forward to becoming a part of this group, your resources, and to contributing when able. I learned to fly back in high school, went off to college and the military, and am now finally fulfilling the dream of every pilot to own a private plane and fly at will, or at least as fuel allows... In my search and desire to balance bang-for-the-buck with a craft that suits personality, I am now the proud new owner of a 1950 Cruisemaster, 0435/190hp. I actually bought the plane 6 months ago, but was only able to retrieve it last week. I flew 1000nm from Minnesota to west Texas, around 8 hours flight time. Cruised like a dream, even with 20+ knots in the face most of the way. I haven't been in small GA planes in many years so I've some re-learning to do, especially landing this thing. After I get a little more time with her and go through your archives, I'll ask a few questions. Remember, I'm a newbie, 'no dumb questions' right.........? Thanks!
Rodney

Well, hello again, Rodney!

Did you buy your airplane from a guy named Gunderson? Some fellow by that name, or a name close to it, has been trying to sell his 14-19 for some time...I hope that means you got a good deal :)

Man, I envy you guys who buy these, fly them away, and they just work...wish I could experience that :roll:

Jonathan

No, fella's name was Spanier. His plane has not been advertised in close to a year, and was not advertised extensively prior to that. I think I picked it up on Barnstormers initially, but I don't really remember. I was in contact a long time with him on this deal, waiting and hoping for the timing to work out. He was not in a big rush to sell. Not a perfect plane, but very solid and capable. Good baseline from which to begin. More details to follow as we move along and I get to know the craft a little better.